NBME logo
Date Updated: July 10, 2013

Medical School Liaison Program

Medical school faculty from academic and medical associations and representatives from major student organizations serve on the Advisory Committee for Medical School Programs, as shown below.

This advisory committee is charged to improve communication and to enhance relationships between the medical education community and the NBME in areas of mutual interest. The committee is structured to systematically obtain views from various segments of the medical education community.

The committee meets twice a year to discuss a variety of topics. Additionally, they provide advice and suggestions on how best to communicate important concerns to and from medical schools and students on an ongoing basis.

Advisory Committee for Medical School Programs

Paul M. Wallach, MD, Chair
Vice Dean for Academic Affairs
Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Health Sciences University
1120 15th Street, CJ-1036
Augusta, GA 30912
Ph: (706) 721-3529 / Fax: (706) 721-2030
Email: pwallach@georgiahealth.edu

Courtney M. Johnson (SNMA)
President, Student National Medical Association
5113 Georgia Ave NW
Washington, DC 20011
Ph: (202) 882-2881 / Fax: (202) 882-2886
Email: president@snma.org
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University (MD/PhD Candidate)

Evelyn C. Granieri, MD, MPH (AAMC-CAS)
Chief, Division of Geriatric Medicine
Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons
The Allen Pavilion 3-015
5141 Broadway
New York, NY 10034
Ph: (646) 842-1669 / Fax: (212) 932-4374
Email: eg2279@columbia.edu

Kristi Ferguson, MSW, PhD (AAMC-GEA)
Director
Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education (OCRME)
University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine
1204 Medical Education Building
Iowa City, IA 52242-1190
Ph: (202) 478-9345
Email:  kristi-ferguson@uiowa.edu

Richard V. Homan, MD (AAMC-COD)
Office of  Provost and Dean
Eastern VA Medical School
PO Box 1980
Norfolk, VA 23501-1980
Ph: (757) 446-5800 / Fax: (757) 446-8444
Email:  homanrv@evms.edu

Michael G. Kavan, PhD (AAMC-GSA)
Creighton University School of Medicine
Student Affairs-Criss III-Room 470B
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Ph: (402) 280-2931 / Fax: (402) 280-2599
Email: mkavan@creighton.edu

Brenda Latham-Sadler, MD (AAMC-GSA/CODA)
Assistant Dean for Student Services
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Office of Student Services
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston Salem, NC 27157
Ph: (336) 716-4271 / Fax: (336) 716-5807
Email:  blsadler@wfubmc.edu

Alma B. Littles, MD (AMA-SMS)
Senior Associate Dean,
Medical Education and Academic Affairs
Florida State University College of Medicine
1115 W. Call Street
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4300
Ph: (850) 644-5905 / Fax: (850) 644-9399
Email: alma.littles@med.fsu.edu

Karan Desai (AMA-MSS)
271 Quail Street, Apartment 5
Albany, NY 12208
Ph: (609) 254-8305
Email: Karan.p.desai@gmail.com

Deborah V. Hall (AMSA)
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
39 Cottage Street
Plainville, CT 06062
Ph: (608) 628-5455
Email: debvhall@gmail.com

Catherine Q. Sun (AAMC-OSR)
University of California, San Francisco,
School of Medicine
513 Parnassus Avenue, S 2-45
San Francisco, CA  94143-0454
Email: catherine.sun@ucsf.edu

David E. Swee, MD (AMA-CME)
Associate Dean for Education
Professor of Family Medicine & Community Health
Department of Family Medicine
UMDNJ R W Johnson Medical School, Piscataway
675 Hoes Lane, Room N-112
Piscataway, NJ 08854-5635
Ph: (732) 235-4578 / Fax: (732) 235-5983
Email: swee@umdnj.edu

Krystal Lynne Tomei, MD, MPH (AMA-RFS)
UMDNJ, New Jersey Medical School
90 Bergen St. Suite 8100
Newark, NJ 07101
Ph: (973) 972-1164
Email: KLTomei@gmail.com

NBME logo