NBME Strategy Advances with Leadership Appointments

Posted November 10, 2021

Three new leaders will take on strategic roles to help NBME achieve a meaningful impact on the assessment of health professionals.

Ye Tong, PhD, will join NBME in mid-December as the Senior Vice President of Assessment Operations. Tong joins NBME from Pearson, where she has most recently served as Vice President of Psychometric and Research Services. Tong was also a President of the National Council on Measurement in Education, where she is now a board member. She is one of the founding board of directors for Women in Measurement, LLC. A nationally recognized measurement expert, Tong has produced presentations and publications in areas of assessment best practices, equating, computer adaptive testing, standard setting, educational policy and equity in assessment. She received her doctoral degree in Educational Measurement and Statistics from the University of Iowa.

Michael Jodoin, PhD, is now the Senior Vice President of Customer and Portfolio Management. Jodoin joined NBME in 2009. He has served in leadership capacities including Vice President of USMLE, where he led strategic and programmatic activities, as well as Vice President of Psychometrics and Data Analysis. Prior to joining NBME, Jodoin held a variety of psychometric, development, and leadership positions at ETS. He earned his doctorate in Psychology from the University of Massachusetts and has presented and published in areas such as assessment equating, innovative item formats, and adaptive assessment design.

Alex J. Mechaber, MD, will become Vice President of USMLE. Before coming to NBME,  Mechaber was the Bernard J. Fogel Chair in Medical Education, Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education, and Professor of Medicine at the University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine, where he also received his medical degree. In addition to supporting NBME as a board member-at-large, Mechaber served on multiple USMLE committees, NBME’s Nominating Committee, the SEEF Research Fellowship Selection Task Force, and as chairperson of the Hubbard Award Committee.

NBME looks forward to the work of these leaders who will help us more effectively serve the needs of the medical education and licensure communities.

Back to News Archive